| Home / Jaguar / List of Jaguar S-Type Models without Timing Belt

The Jaguar S-Type is an executive car (E-segment in Europe) manufactured by the British automaker Jaguar Cars, currently a subsidiary of the company Jaguar Land Rover. This name was first used in 1963, and was reused by the brand for a saloon car sold between 1999 and 2007.

The modern Jaguar S-Type was sold for a single generation, and was replaced by the Jaguar XF. It was built on the Ford-Jaguar DEW platform, shared with vehicles such as the Ford Thunderbird or the Lincoln LS. It was sold with V6 gasoline and diesel engines. The most powerful versions were equipped with 4.0 and 4.2 liter V8 gasoline engines.

This model competed against the Mercedes-Benz E-Class, the BMW 5 Series, the Audi A6, the Chrysler 300C, the Hyundai Grandeur, the Lexus ES and the Volvo S80 among many others.

jaguar s type.jpg

Jaguar S-Type. Timing Belt or Timing Chain?

Down below you will see a list with all Jaguar S-Type models that have been produced. They are classified by model identifier, year and type of bodywork. Above each list, we show you a series of pictures so that you can have a visual reference for each model. In some cases, both the original and its updated design are displayed to help you identify them with ease.

In this guide you will find all Jaguar S-Type models.

■ Timing Belt / Cam Belt (Correa / Faja de Distribución)
■ Timing Chain (Cadena de Distribución / Cadena de Tiempo)
■ Gear Driven (Distribución por Engranajes)
100% Electric, No Timing (Sin Distribución)
Unknown / Not Updated (Información desconocida)

If a car model is specified in blue, it means its motor engine has a timing chain; that is, it has no timing belt. The rest of the vehicles marked in grey have a timing belt/cam belt.

Jaguar S-Type II – (X200) (1999)

Sedan / Saloon

Diesel Engines

  • AJD 2.7 D 207CV (2004 – 2007)

Petrol / Gasoline Engines

  • JB (AJ-V6) AJ25 2.5 V6 200CV (2002 – 2007)
  • XR8 3.0 234CV (1999 – 2002)
  • XR8 3.0 230CV (2006 – 2007)
  • FB AJ-V6 3.0 V6 238CV (1999 – 2007)
  • AJ-V8 4.0 V8 276CV (1999 – 2002)
  • AJ-V8 4.0 V8 284CV (1999 – 2002)
  • AJ8FT 4.2 Supercharged 405CV (2001 – 2008)
  • AJ8FT 4.2 V8 298CV (2002 – 2007)
  • AJ8FT 4.2 V8 305CV (2007 – 2008)
  • AJ8FT R 4.2 V8 396CV (2002 – 2007)

See More Jaguar Models

Explore More Timing Chain Vehicles:​