| Home / Subaru / List of Subaru WRX Models without Timing Belt

The Subaru WRX is a sport compact car with an all-wheel drive (C-segment in Europe) produced by the Japanese marque Subaru. It is a fork version of the Subaru Impreza that was born in 1992 as a vehicle for the World Rally Championship. Its name stands for “World Rally eXperimental”. Up to 2014, WRX was only a surname for the high performance version of the Impreza. From that year onward, the Subaru WRX became an independent vehicle.

If you want to see the list of engines and distribution of the Subaru WRX when it was still part of the Impreza family (Subaru Impreza WRX), the information is available on our Subaru Impreza page.

The liflong rival of the Impreza / WRX has been the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo, which is no longer in production. Nowadays, the Audi RS3, the Hyundai i30 N, the Renault Megane RS, the Cupra Leon or the Peugeot 308 GTI are some of its competitors.

Subaru WRX. Timing Belt or Timing Chain?

Down below you will see a list with all the Subaru WRX models which have been produced so far. They are classified by model identifier, year and type of bodywork. Above each list, we show you a series of pictures so that you can have a visual reference for each model. In some cases, both the original and its updated design are displayed to help you identify them with ease.

In this guide you will find all the Subaru WRX models.

■ Timing Belt / Cam Belt (Correa / Faja de Distribución)
■ Timing Chain (Cadena de Distribución / Cadena de Tiempo)
■ Gear Driven (Distribución por Engranajes)
100% Electric, No Timing (Sin Distribución)
Unknown / Not Updated (Información desconocida)

If a car model is specified in blue, it means its motor engine has a timing chain; that is, it has no timing belt. The rest of the vehicles marked in grey have a timing belt/cam belt.

Subaru WRX I – First Generation (VA) (2014)

Sedan (Impreza GJ)

Diesel Engines

There are no diesel-engined versions of the Subaru WRX Sedan Gen 1.

Petrol Engines

  • EJ257 STi 2.5 AWD 301 CV (2014)
  • EJ257 STi 2.5 AWD 321 CV (2011 – 2012)
  • EJ207 STi 2.0 AWD 308 CV (2016)
  • EJ257 STi 2.5 AWD 309 CV (2011)
  • EJ257 STi 2.5 AWD 310 CV (2016)

See More Subaru Models:

Explore More Timing Chain Vehicles:​