Subaru XV / Crosstrek — TIMING CHAIN OR BELT?


| Home / Subaru / List of Subaru XV Models without Timing Belt

The Subaru XV is a subcompact crossover (C-segment in Europe) manufactured by the Japanese automaker Subaru. It has been commercially available since 2012. It is built on the same platform as the Subaru Impreza. It is called Subaru XV in Europe, Asia and Australia. It is known as Subaru Crosstrek in North America. The XV/ Crosstrek replaces the Subaru Outback Sport in the American market and the Subaru Impreza XV in the rest of the international markets.

The Subaru XV / Crosstrek compites against other subcompact crossovers of its segment, such as the Nissan Qashqai, the Ford Kuga, the Seat Ateca, the Mitsubishi ASX, the Renault Kadjar, the Peugeot 3008 and the Toyota RAV4 among many others.

Subaru XV / Crosstrek. Timing Belt or Timing Chain?

Down below you will see a list with all Subaru XV / Crosstrek models which have been produced so far. They are classified by model identifier, year and type of bodywork. Above each list, we show you a series of pictures so that you can have a visual reference for each model. In some cases, both the original and its updated design are displayed to help you identify them with ease.

In this guide you will find all Subaru XV / Crosstrek models.

■ Timing Belt / Cam Belt (Correa / Faja de Distribución)
■ Timing Chain (Cadena de Distribución / Cadena de Tiempo)
■ Gear Driven (Distribución por Engranajes)
100% Electric, No Timing (Sin Distribución)
Unknown / Not Updated (Información desconocida)

If a car model is specified in blue, it means its motor engine has a timing chain; that is, it has no timing belt. The rest of the vehicles marked in grey have a timing belt/cam belt.

Subaru XV / Crosstrek I – First Generation (GP) (2012)


Diesel Engines

  • EE20Z 2.0 D AWD 147 CV (2012)
  • EE20Z 2.0 D AWD 109 CV (2012)

Petrol Engines

  • B16A 1.6 i AWD 114 CV (2012)
  • FB16B 1.6 BiFuel AWD (G33GP, GP3) 114 CV (2012)
  • FB20B 2.0 i AWD 150 CV (2012)
  • FB20 2.0 i AWD 152 CV (2012)
  • FB20 2.0 Hybrid AWD 150 CV (2014)

Subaru XV / Crosstrek II – Second Generation (GT) (2017)


Diesel Engines

There are no diesel-engined versions of the Subaru XV / Crosstrek Gen 2.

Petrol Engines

  • FB16A 1.6 AWD 116 CV (2017)
  • FB16A 1.6 i AWD (GT3) 114 CV
  • FB20D 2.0 AWD 154 CV
  • FB20C 2.0 i AWD 150 CV (2019)
  • FB20D 2.0 i AWD 156 CV (2017)
  • FB20C 2.0 i AWD (GT7) 150 CV (2019)
  • FB20X 2.0 i e-BOXER AWD (GTE) 150 CV (2019)

See more Subaru Models:

Explore More Timing Chain Vehicles:​