Hyundai Matrix / Lavita — TIMING CHAIN OR BELT?


| Home / Hyundai / List of Hyundai Matrix / Lavita Models without Timing Belt

The Hyundai Matrix is a compact MPV (C-segment in Europe) manufactured by the South Korean marque Hyundai Motor Company. In most international markets, this MPV is marketed as Hyundai Lavita, leaving Hyundai Matrix only for the European market. This model was sold between 2000 and 2010. It was later replaced by the Hyundai ix20.

The Hyundai Matrix was designed by Pininfarina, and was a five-door, five-seater MPV. It was an affordable vehicle with gasoline engines ranging from 1.5 to 1.8 liters. Diesel versions were also available in Europe.

This minivan has only had one generation, although it did undergo a redesign in 2008. Competitors include vehicles such as the Citroen Xsara Picasso, Renault Scénic, Fiat Multipla, Seat Altea, Daewoo Tacuma and Toyota Corolla Verso.

Hyundai Matrix. Timing Belt or Timing Chain?

Down below you will see a list with all Hyundai Matrix models that have been produced. They are classified by model identifier, year and type of bodywork. Above each list, we show you a series of pictures so that you can have a visual reference for each model. In some cases, both the original and its updated design are displayed to help you identify them with ease.

In this guide you will find all Hyundai Matrix.

■ Timing Belt / Cam Belt (Correa / Faja de Distribución)
■ Timing Chain (Cadena de Distribución / Cadena de Tiempo)
■ Gear Driven (Distribución por Engranajes)
100% Electric, No Timing (Sin Distribución)
Unknown / Not Updated (Información desconocida)

If a car model is specified in blue, it means its motor engine has a timing chain; that is, it has no timing belt. The rest of the vehicles marked in grey have a timing belt/cam belt.

Hyundai Matrix I – First Generation (FC) (2000)


Diesel Engines

  • D3EA 1.5 CRDi 82 CV (2001 – 2010)
  • D4FA 1.5 CRDi 102 CV (2004 – 2010)
  • D4FA 1.5 CRDi VGT 110 CV (2005 – 2010)

Petrol Engines

  • G4EC 1.5 99 CV (2002 – 2010)
  • G4ED 1.6 90 CV (2002 – 2005)
  • G4ED 1.6 103 CV (2001 – 2010)
  • G4GB 1.8 122 CV (2001 – 2010)

See More Hyundai Models

Explore More Timing Chain Vehicles:​